Lawyers Alliance for New York
Our Pro Bono Program
Becoming a
Resources for
Legal Topics
Volunteer Recognition
Case Closing Volunteer Questionnaire
CLE Credit for Pro Bono
For Alumni




Volunteer Recognition

Lawyers Alliance believes that the exemplary work and outstanding accomplishments of our volunteer attorneys deserve recognition from clients, peers, employers, and the general public.

We are privileged to work with so many dynamic clients who not only are running extraordinary programs but also take the time to say "thank you" to our volunteers.

Cornerstone Awards

Since 1997, Lawyers Alliance has presented Cornerstone Awards annually to a select group of individuals and institutions that have made extraordinary contributions through pro bono legal services. These services help nonprofits to address critical human needs and improve the quality of life for thousands of low-income New Yorkers.

SAVE THE DATE: 2014 Cornerstone Awards - Thursday, October 30, 2014 at Credit Suisse

Lawyers Alliance presented the 2013 Cornerstone Awards for pro bono excellence on Wednesday, November 6 at Credit Suisse.

Read the press release.

The 2013 Institutional Honorees:

The 2013 Individual Honorees:

Rebuilding After Hurricane Sandy: This year Lawyers Alliance also acknowledges the 60 dedicated attorneys who volunteered to assist nonprofit organizations in the neighborhoods most affected by Hurricane Sandy.

Lawyers Alliance for New York 2013 Cornerstone Award Winners
(Back row, left to right) Kevin J. Curnin of Institutional Honoree Stroock & Stroock & Lavan LLP; Jim Walsh, Manatt, Phelps & Phillips, LLP; Jason Mehar of the Davis Polk & Wardwell LLP legal team; Allan S. Bloom, Paul Hastings LLP; Jonathan Hillel Ashtor, Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom LLP; Ji Kim, Morgan, Lewis & Bockius LLP; Ezra Borut, Debevoise & Plimpton LLP

(Front row, left to right) Michael A. Lehmann, Manatt, Phelps & Phillips, LLP; Robert W Fagiola, Shearman & Sterling LLP; Lisa A. Levy, Fried, Frank, Harris, Shriver & Jacobson LLP; Lauren E. Manton, DLA Piper LLP (US); Sylvie C. Goursand, Hogan Lovells US LLP; Edward H. Sadtler of Institutional Honoree Kirkland & Ellis LLP

Photo credit: Ben Russell

Click here to view more photos from this event.

The complete list of Lawyers Alliance's Cornerstone winners from 1997 to 2013 includes 166 of Lawyers Alliance's more than 5,000 individual volunteers during this period.

Previous Institutional Cornerstone Award winners include:

2012: Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom LLP
Herrick, Feinstein LLP
2011: Holland & Knight LLP
Jackson Lewis LLP
2010: Linklaters LLP
Weil, Gotshal & Manges LLP

Additional Honors

Lawyers Alliance regularly identifies outstanding volunteers who reach a milestone in their pro bono project and issues a "Volunteer Accomplishment" announcement recognizing this work. These callouts are available in the News section of this website.

In addition, Lawyers Alliance has presented the Award for Pro Bono Leadership to a law firm partner who has performed exemplary pro bono service for nonprofit organizations in New York City. Past honorees include:

2009: Ashley R. Altschuler of Weil, Gotshal & Manges LLP
2008: Robert S. Whitman of Seyfarth Shaw LLP
2007: Michael J. Feinman of Blank Rome LLP
2006: Mark E. Brossman of Schulte Roth & Zabel LLP

Many of Lawyers Alliance's volunteer institutions have received accolades from state and national bar leaders for their business law pro bono work. We are honored to have nominated a strong list of winners of American Bar Association and New York State Bar Association pro bono awards.